Change currency
Argentine Peso
Australian Dollar
Bolivia, Boliviano
Brazilian Real
Belize Dollar
Canadian Dollar
Swiss Franc
Chilean Peso
Colombian Peso
Costa Rican Colon
Pound sterling
Guatemala, Quetzal
Guyana Dollar
Honduras, Lempira
Mexican Peso
Nicaragua, Cordoba Oro
New Zealand Dollar
Peru, Nuevo Sol
Paraguay, Guarani
US Dollar
Peso Uruguayo
South Africa, Rand
215 215 9814

Requirements to travel to Greece as a tourist

February 07, 2022 4 min read.

For most Latin Americans it is not necessary to process a visa to visit Greece.

Therefore, they are exempt from visa, if they stay for a maximum of 90 (ninety) days. This applies to most of the citizens born in Latin America. But it is important to note that although many do not need a visa, they must purchase travel health insurance.

Before going into detail about the visa-exempt or non-visa-free countries to visit Greece, it should be clarified that absolutely all European citizens can freely move around the European territory; therefore, if you are a citizen of one of the countries of the European Community, you do not need a visa to step on Hellenic soil. Bear in mind that stays cannot be longer than 90 days every 6 months, and it is not possible to leave the European Community for a few days and return "renewing" the visa for another 90 days. For every 90 days in Europe, they must continue for another 90 days outside Europe.

Which nationalities need a visa and which do not

Some nationalities need to apply for a tourist visa at the Greek consulate before entering Greece, while other nationalities do not need to apply for it, so they simply have to meet some requirements. Let's look at both cases.

National citizens of Spain and other countries of the European Union only need the valid ID or Passport to travel to Greece. Thus, citizens of these countries do not need any type of visa: Germany, Austria, Bulgaria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Lithuania, Malta, Norway, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, the Czech Republic, the United Kingdom, Romania and Sweden.

In addition, there are other countries, from other continents, exempt from visas for stays of less than 90 days. Therefore, nationals of the following countries only need a valid passport to travel to Greece: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Vatican City, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Colombia, El Salvador, United States, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Paraguay, Republic of Korea, San Marino, Switzerland, Singapore, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Also, according to the Greek consulate, the best option for citizens of other countries that have not been previously mentioned is to go to the Embassy of that country in its territory or check it on the website of the Greek Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

It should be remembered that citizens of these countries do not have the right to work in the Greek country on a tourist visa. Controls are strict in that regard.

If we do not have the aforementioned citizenships, we must present the following documents at the Greek Consulate of our country: application form, valid passport, passport-size photograph, documents that support our economic income and savings, airline ticket reservations, accommodation , tours and pay consular visa fees. The response process lasts an average of six days.

Therefore, the countries that DO need to have a visa to set foot on Greek soil are: Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Saudi Arabia, Armenia,  Palestinian National Authority, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Belarus, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Capo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Comore, Congo, Congo, North Korea, Cote d’Ivore, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egitto, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Filippines, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Jamaica, Djibouti, Jordan, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kazakistan, Kenya, Kirghizistan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Laos, Lesotho, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldive, Mali, Marocco, Mauritania, Myanmar, Mongolia, Mozambico, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Papua-Nuova Guinea, Qatar, Rwanda, Russia, Sao Tomé e Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Syria, Somalia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Tagikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turchia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Visa types

For an investment or business trip, passengers must process a special visa that will allow them to carry out economic activities (ranging from attending work meetings to registering the creation of a business) if we are not citizens of the EU, Canada and the USA. For work visa, all persons wishing to work in Greece must apply for a permit regardless of nationality. This permit will be regulated by the Greek Labor Party Ministry and we must have a sponsor to support our job application. The same for a study visa since we must have the admission letter from the center to which we have applied.

Our news, once a month

Contact us

Greece 215 215 9814

Argentina 011 5984 24 39

Australia 2 7202 6698

Brazil 11 2391 6302

Canada 1 888 200 5351

Chile 2 2938 2672

Colombia 601 5085335

Spain 911430012

Italy 39800829657

Mexico 55 4161 1796

Peru 17085726

Singapore 6018 0678

USA 1 888 665 4835

24/7 Emergency line.

[email protected]



2 Charokopou St, Kallithea

Athens, Greece- PC: GR 176 71


Official Travel Agency Authorized under license: 0261E70000817700

© 2024 Greca